Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Fix

by (Collins)

$0.99 $11.99 Save 92%

Share This

Description

Addictions to iphones, painkillers, cupcakes, alcohol and sex are taking over our lives.

Our most casual daily habits can quickly become obsessions that move beyond our control. Damian Thompson, who has himself struggled with a range of addictions, argues that human desire is in the process of being reshaped. Shunning the concept of addiction as disease, he shows how manufacturers are producing substances like ipads, muffins and computer games that we learn to like too much and supplement tradition addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling. He argues that addictive behaviour is becoming a substitute for family and work bonds that are being swept away by globalisation and urbanisation.

This battle to control addiction will soon overshadow familiar ideological debates about how to run the economy, and as whole societies set about "fixing" themselves, the architecture of human relations will come under strain as never before.

The Fix offers a truly frightening glimpse of the future and is essential reading for fans of Naomi Klein's 'No Logo', Oliver James's 'Affluenza' and Francis Wheen's 'How Mumbo-jumbo Conquered the World'.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is only $0.99.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Damian Thompson on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Damian Thompson.
  • to stop tracking Damian Thompson.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on September 5, 2013.
  • This book was $10.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 4 times in the past 1,809 days.
  • The current price of this book is $0.99 last checked 5 hours ago.
  • The lowest price to date was $0.99 last reached on April 14, 2018.
  • This book has been $0.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $11.99 last reached on December 20, 2016.
  • This book has been $11.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 293 Pages
  • File Size: 623 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 5 hours ago. At that time, the price was $0.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.ca website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.